Community Foundation names Lilly Scholars | Covid-19


Japanese Excessive Faculty senior Jaeden Hannah and Northwestern Excessive Faculty senior Jennah Jones have been named recipients of four-year, full-tuition scholarships because the Group Basis of Howard County 2020 Lilly Endowment Group Students.

Every pupil will obtain four-year full tuition to an accredited public or non-public nonprofit Indiana college or school of their selection and a $900 yearly stipend for required books and gear

Hannah, son of Kraig and Brandy Hannah, is senior class president at Japanese Excessive Faculty. This Nationwide Honor Society member is on the soccer and observe groups, is a part of the Encore Singers present choir and has carried out in a number of faculty musicals. He has volunteered his time on the Shiloh Park Retreat and Convention Middle, is concerned in Wildcat Creek conservation actions and has coached youth flag soccer. He’ll attend Indiana Wesleyan College and main in historical past.

Jones, daughter of Steven and Kristy Jones, is a member of the Nationwide Honor Society who tutors fellow college students. She is a member of the German membership, performs on the tennis staff and serves as supervisor of the swim staff. She is lively in her church and volunteers at Ascension St. Vincent Remedy Kokomo. She plans to review biology at Indiana College-Purdue College Indianapolis.

The first functions of the Lilly Endowment Group Scholarship Program are to assist elevate the extent of instructional attainment in Indiana, to extend consciousness of the helpful roles Indiana group foundations can play of their communities and to encourage and assist the efforts of present and previous Lilly Endowment Group Students to have interaction with one another and with Indiana enterprise, governmental, instructional, nonprofit and civic leaders to enhance the standard of life in Indiana usually and in native communities all through the state.

Together with the twenty fourth cohort, 4,912 Indiana highschool college students have acquired greater than $424 million in scholarship tuition by means of the Lilly scholarships because the program’s inception in 1998. With the 2020 awards, 47 Howard County residents have acquired the scholarship, representing an approximate worth of $4.2 million.

The Group Basis of Howard County’s standards used within the finalists’ choice course of embody educational achievement, monetary want, potential for fulfillment, desire for first-generation school attendees, faculty, group and work actions, and an interview. Sixty-eight Howard County college students utilized for the scholarship.

“The Lilly Endowment Group Scholarship permits college students to have the ability to give attention to lecturers and never funds, which is particularly necessary given the challenges and the sacrifices college students have made this 12 months,” mentioned Glenn Grundmann, chairman of the Group Basis of Howard County Scholarship Committee. “It’s our hope that the scholars stay in Indiana and take part within the communities the place they reside.”

After the Group Basis of Howard County Scholarship Committee chosen the seven finalists, the names have been submitted to Unbiased Faculties of Indiana (ICI) for the number of recipients. ICI is a nonprofit company that represents 30 regionally accredited diploma granting, nonprofit, non-public faculties and universities within the state.

The Group Basis of Howard County acknowledged the accomplishments of the opposite 5 finalists with $1,500 scholarships. They’re Ava Briggs of Kokomo Excessive Faculty, Mason Harrel of Northwestern Excessive Faculty, Truman Howerton of Taylor Excessive Faculty, Clayton Kelly of Western Excessive Faculty and Leann Saul of Northwestern Excessive Faculty.


Source link


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

News Feed